Questions About the Genealogy in The Gospel of Matthew

Hi friends,

As I studied the Sermon on the Mount, I also started to carefully read commentaries on the rest of the Gospel of Matthew.

Recently, I started to pay detailed attention to the genealogy in chapter 1.

Here are two interesting conundrums from the genealogy.

First, in verses 7-8, most English translations read, “…Abijah fathered Asa, Asa fathered Jehoshaphat…”

But if you look at the Greek text of the passage in Nestle-Aland 28, you see this:

I’ve underlined the important word - it reads “Asaph” - the Psalmist.

Likewise, in verse 10, most English translations read, “…Manasseh fathered Amon, Amon fathered Josiah…”

But in the Greek text, we have:

The name here is “Amos” - the prophet.

The question is: why does Matthew place Asaph and Amos in the genealogy of Jesus?

Dr. J. Richard Middleton offers this explanation:

The sum of all the numerical values of the fourteen names—as Matthew spells them—in the list from David to the exile is 560. This is exactly the number we get when we multiply the numerical value of David (14) with Jeconiah (40), the last king listed; this accounts for Matthew’s variant spellings of the names, including Asaph and Amos. While this playing with numbers might seem to contemporary readers as an unnecessary quirk (he could make his points without it), it is another way in which Matthew reinforces his desire to keep the name David before us. If the genealogy of Abraham to David suggests great possibilities for Israel, the genealogy of “from David to the deportation to Babylon” (Matt 1:17) affirms that these possibilities were squandered by the monarchy, beginning with David himself.

Middleton’s explanation of the genealogy relies heavily on discerning how Matthew used gematria - assigning numeric values to names based upon the letters within them - to make theological points.