How do you envision God?

I’m an animal rescuer. Any animal in need, and I do whatever I can… This morning, one of my rescue kitties was feeling lost, crying out and trying to get my attention while I was in the shower. To understand his need, you need to know a bit of his story.

I was feeding a colony of feral cats when this new one showed up at the colony. I noticed right away that he was VERY sick, yet he came hobbling up to beg for food. He had dead skin hanging off his forehead with infection pouring out, could barely stand, much less walk, and was severely underweight. He trusted me enough, though, to pick him up, put him into a crate (tot-tote), and put him in the car.

I told my vet to do whatever they could and gave them my credit card. In the middle of surgery, the doctor called me and said he had probably a 50% chance of surviving and asked what I wanted him to do. I told him that this cat deserved the chance to live, to do his best.

As a nurse, I knew I had my work ahead of me to help this poor baby, but I didn’t know the half of it. When I picked him up at the very, Dr. B told me that the wounds the cat had suffered were intentional. Someone thought it would be fun to break all of his wrist and ankle joints and then throw some type of acid on him. This cat had physical wounds, but he also had severe emotional wounds. When I took him home, he hid under my bed and refused to come out. I had to crawl under there to treat his wounds, to feed him, put a litter box at the foot of the bed and not go in when he would come out to use it. For 3 months we did this before he began to emerge. It took almost a year for him to come out if my husband was home. Took 2 years for him to sit next to me on a chair and almost 4 for him to climb into my lap.